« Interview with William Bloom | Main | Big Peace Design »

Monday, 10 November 2008

Comments

Irena

I find this a brilliant pre-christmas resolution and am joining you on this one. So it is a cup of green tea for me this morning rather than the usual coffee. Thanks for suggesting that!

Amy

Green tea is full of caffiene! Make sure its the de - caf variety! But enjoy!

Irena

:-D Sure

Sue

Caffeine cold turkey can be much worse than you think. Last time I did it I slept for two days and felt down for a week - and I only drink two strong cups a day. It builds up in your brain, you quickly lose the effect and you end up drinking it just to feel normal.

Jules

You are not manic. You are full of enthusiasm for life, joyful and incredibly positive which is so refreshing when there are the doom and gloomers all around us. Don't change! Re coffee. I couldn't drink it during pregnancy and then when I went back to it (I love the taste) I found it made me hyper and breathless in a nervous way so switched to decaf in which there is a small percent of caffeine, get the taste, little buzz but stay zen.

Caite

I can only drink 3 cups of coffee per week if I don't want my head to be so jumpy it feels like a kangaroo is residing in there....whether giving it up will make you feel any better you will only find out after. I do believe that in order to have a bit of an "edge" we do need a certain amount of toxins in our bodies...for me it's far too bland without.

Maria

Well done for deciding to give up coffee Suzy. A Doctor friend of mine said that if we'd known the effect that caffiene had on the body 100 years ago it would be a contolled substance now :-) I stopped drinking tea and coffee when I was 7 years old for some strange reason. I drink loads of water and when you wean youself completely over time you'll find that water still gives you lots of energy. Glad to hear you are doing it the sensible and realistic way.

Mary

Patrick Holford has a new book out on quitting various substances including coffee alled 'How to Quit without feeling S**t!. You might find it helpful with regard to the withdrawls. I gave up coffee 2o years ago and cannot drink even one cup witout feeling hyper. I do have the odd decaf cuppa after a meal out though. Best wishes with it.

Suzy Greaves

This is all great advice - just ordered Patrick Holford's book. I'm feeling Ok right now as I'm still on 3 cups a day for the next couple of days, it may start getting dodgier once I cut down to 2. But my goal is by Xmas day to be caffeine free!
My main reason is hormonal - won't go into details but definitely growing a beard. and getting weird big lumps in my boobs - and apparently this are all classic symptoms of too much coffee. and apparently you're not even allowed on one cup. or says Marilyn Glenville (author of The Natural Health Handbook for women)
Wow! it's been quite a year. Coffee has been a mainstay in my life for so long.
I've been letting go of some many bad habits recently - I should get a halo for xmas.

Sandra

We drink decaf at home. I buy a jar of whichever Fairtrade Decaf instant is on special (I think we have Clipper at the moment) and same for the real stuff. I like it but other people sometimes comment on the coffee. Maybe I'm not fussy?
I don't order decaf at work or when out in cafes but I find the decaf in the evening thing works well for me. It's a good starting point. Good luck!
I love the idea of the Big Peace and I really need it right now.

The comments to this entry are closed.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Big Peace CD

  • The Big Peace in just 23 minutes a Day
    Click on the CD Cover to find out more

Sign Up For The Big Peace Now!

Suzy's Twitterings

    follow me on Twitter