« The Artist's Way: the warm up | Main | The afternoon pages »

Tuesday, 27 January 2009

Comments

Dominique

Procrastination is my middle name! I have done The Artists Way but only half way. My other middle name is "no follow through". I know that it works, I know its good but I let the good work dissolve.

So, thanks for this blog post! It's a reminder. Morning pages, artists date plan. From tomorrow! That's it!

Liz

I've been doing the pages most mornings but I am really struggling with the amount of time it takes to fill three full pages. I've got plenty to write but it takes so long to write it out. Am I allowed to switch to a smaller book? Or is this another version of procrastination!

Emz

Suzy - I know exactly what you mean! 2009 has been so difficult for one reason and another so far that I decided to begin it when the Chinese New Year began instead. I need a fresh start and a revamp. BUT whilst I'm being efficient in many respects (work, diet, family, etc), when it come to ME and what I want to do it's not happening - yet. Time for some Strategic Selfishness and time-creation so that I can start on the Artist's Way!

Jules - www.julesritter.com

Dominique, perhaps you are a Scanner? See my blog www.julesritter.com.

I've been in a ditch for two weeks now but I believe there is a reason for procrastination, a reason why we retreat, go within and take time out from the world. The big leaps - loved that line about the net too put it on my vision board this morning - need to be the right ones for us so there is a great deal of sub-conscious work that needs to take place and so we shut down and do little (in my case that means minimum housework lots of reading, researching, napping (contemplation) and very few spoken words) which frustrates the reptile brain in us which screams in indignation. The reptile brain wants to be out doing things, getting things and moving forwards always on the look out for the next best thing. Those governed by their reptile brain were the hyper kid at school, the serial dating office colleague, the super-mummy you steer clear of at the playground. This going within effects us physically also - hence I've the flu and I never get sick. I haven't left the house and have been wearing bag lady clothes all week - will I ever get dressed again?

I found reading Cameron's intro soothing. The way I see it is that we have to get over our egos, leave them behind and make the decisions our hearts and intuition are telling us if we could only turn off the chatter of the mind (reptile brain again...you lazy cow get up) - hence the morning pages. It certainly explains what I am going through and do so, I now realize in varying intensities, every three months or so, it's a cycle go with it, it's important.

Suzy I'll have to fill you in our next coaching session!

Big leaps do not have to be all about the next contract, or buying a house, getting the gorgeous man/woman, landing the perfect job - however nice that would be! Big leaps are also big spiritual leaps or hey, could even be a tiny baby step but as long at it is in the direction of your true path then it is BIG.

Looks like I've done my three pages. Suzy, try one of those moleskin journalist notebooks. I love them. You can find them in any good stationers. What's the book you are reading?

Karen

OMG Suzy.. I could have written your blog myself (but not as eloquently!)

I too find myself faffing around and finding excuses - although a broken wrist is a pretty good excuse as far as excuses go, isn't it? My excuse today is that I don't want to ruin my gorgeous new Morning Pages notebook with my currently near-illegible handwriting - even though I know I'm not supposed to read it again!

Okay, enough - I WILL start tomorrow!

cheryl

My struggle this morning was not .....the doing of my pages....but the fact that I have been doing them since I first read The Artists Way four years ago AND I'm writing the same stuff with no insights / signs / clues coming through. Has anyone else got or had the same problem...........I feel like my 'inner self ' just doesn't want to share its wisdom with me !

Lizzie E

I am in a massive procrastination around things i need to do for my business, but i didn't think I was having to start this till next week! I read the introduction today.

I too have started this book a couple of times in the last 15 years since i first bought it! But the last time - as signed in the contract page - was 2004.

A question though - what size page of 3 pages?! I think i used to do A4, but thats just not going to happen at the moment - along with morning runs/ pilates /planned meditation.

Taking on too much?!.....

Sam

I just try and type 900 words (figuring on 300 per page.) I know I'm not supposed to type it but I guess I'm a bit of a geek. I feel more connected wizzing it down on the keyboard. I've done it long hand a few times but end up feeling I've forgotton half of what I wanted to get down while I am writing. Any one else cheating this way?

Oh and procrastination city here! - but of late I've been trying to beat myself up less about and understand my reasons more - fear, lack of information etc. - without being too judgemental. I think it sometimes turns out that we're holding back for good reason.

UK Dissertation Writing

Whenever i see the post like your's i feel that there are still helpful people who share information for the help of others, it must be helpful for other's. thanx and good job.

http://www.mastersdissertation.co.uk/

The comments to this entry are closed.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Big Peace CD

  • The Big Peace in just 23 minutes a Day
    Click on the CD Cover to find out more

Sign Up For The Big Peace Now!

Suzy's Twitterings

    follow me on Twitter